Lesson 2 - How The Chess Pieces Move: The Bishops
"The future belongs to he who has the bishops."
- Siegbert Tarrasch
If you did not go through the page explaining the general rules for moving pieces, I recommend that you do so before continuing.
The bishop is a long-range piece: he can move one or several squares, forward or backward. He is moving on diagonals only. Thus, it means that the bishop will always move and capture on only one color on the chessboard which is the color of its starting square.
Diagram 2.5 - Moving the Bishop
Capturing With Bishops
The bishop can capture the first enemy piece encountered on its path. Since the bishop cannot jump over other pieces, it is blocked when there is another piece (friend of foe) on its path.
In the diagram below, the white bishop can capture 2 pieces: the g7 pawn and the f2 knight. Note that the bishop cannot capture the pawn on a7, even if it is on its diagonal, since it is blocked by a friend pawn on c5.
Diagram 2.6 - Captures by a Bishop
Let's continue the lesson with the next page so we can learn how the knight moves.